Odisha Juggernauts, the defending champions, ended their group stage campaign of Ultimate Kho Kho Season 2 with a 34-23 victory over Mumbai Khiladis at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack on Tuesday.

The defeat meant the Khiladis drew curtains on a UKK Season 2 campaign that saw them win only two of their 10 matches.

Mumbai Khiladis started the match with their first defending batch of Hrushikesh Murchavade, Sibin M, and Pratik Devare, securing two Dream Runs. But with six dismissals, Odisha Juggernauts made quick work of their second batch to end Turn 1 with a 12-2 lead.

Turn 2 would see the Juggernauts extend their ascendancy with their first defending batch (Debendra Nath, Vishal and Nikhil Sodaye) scoring a Dream Run and their second batch (Vishal Oram, Sobhag Sriganda and Visag S) adding two further Dream Runs to the cause. At half-time, the game looked like an entertaining second half was on the cards with the scoreline reading 15-14 marginally in favour of Odisha Juggernauts.

Courtesy of a 14-point attack in Turn 3 and not letting their opponents claim a single defensive point, the Odisha Juggernauts ensured Turn 3 belonged to them alone. Manoj Kumar was the pick of the attackers for Odisha with six points.

The small possible door for a comeback for the Mumbai Khiladis was seemingly shut by the determined prowess of the Odisha Juggernauts in Turn 4. The opening batch of Mahesha P, Niranjan Samal and MD Mirajul took the Mumbai Khiladis attackers to the cleaners with a decisive Dream Run that clocked five minutes and 20 seconds and yielded five bonus points. Mahesha, in particular, was impressive, as he eluded the Mumbai Khiladis attackers for two minutes and 33 seconds.

The game concluded with the hosts and current holders registering a 34-24 success and bringing a massive wave of joy to the home crowd that came to the stadium to support the Juggernauts.

Match Awards

Attacker of the Match: Manoj Kumar (Odisha Juggernauts)

Defender of the Match: Mahesha P (Odisha Juggernauts)

Ultimate Kho of the Match: Sibin M (Mumbai Khiladis)